Mahindra confirms drivers

Formula E Donington HQ opening Mahindra car

Karun Chandhok and Bruno Senna will drive for Mahindra Racing in the maiden Formula E season. The partnership is the third time the two have been paired, following stints together in GP2 and F1.

The news was announced today at a press conference in Mumbai, India, although the names had been leaked over the weekend by Autocar India and the Time of India.

Mahindra is the third of the 10 Formula E teams to reveal its drivers. Senna and Chandhok will compete with Sam Bird and Jaime Alguersuari from the Virgin garage, and Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi at Audi Sport ABT.

The Indian team is working closely with Carlin, an established motorsports outfit that has nurtured a vast array of top talent, including reigning and four-time F1 champion Sebastian Vettel.

Team principal Dilbagh Gill said: “Karun and Bruno both represent the perfect balance between experience and youthful enthusiasm for this truly ground breaking championship.”

“To be a part of the only Indian team in this series is a real honour for me,” said Chandhok. “The city races are going to be a great spectacle and the quality of teams and drivers should ensure some fantastic racing.”

“There is a real ambition within the team to be leaders in Formula E from the start,” Senna confirmed. “It’s also an exciting prospect to be part of such a revolutionary championship from the beginning. There will be a lot to learn very quickly, both for the teams and drivers in terms of technology and driving styles and for race fans.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *