Rosenqvist grabs third Formula E pole

Photo: Nat Twiss / Spacesuit Media

Felix Rosenqvist’s stunning rookie campaign in Formula E hit another high note on Sunday as the Mahindra driver scored the final pole position of the season in Montreal.

Rosenqvist posted¬†a fastest lap of 1:22.344 in the final Super Pole shootout to beat heats leader Sam Bird by two-tenths of a second, moving to within a point of the Briton in the race of P3 in the drivers’ championship in the process.

Jean-Eric Vergne will start third in Montreal for Techeetah ahead of Nick Heidfeld, while title favourite Lucas di Grassi slotted into P5.

Di Grassi heads into the season finale leading Sebastien Buemi by 18 points, and will fancy his chances after the Renault racer failed to even reach the top 10.

A lock-up on his hot lap caused Buemi to lose time, resigning him to 14th in the final classification. While the Swiss racer will gain one place thanks to teammate Nicolas Prost’s grid penalty, he faces a stiff challenge if he is to overhaul di Grassi.

Daniel Abt took sixth place for ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport ahead of Prost and Tom Dillmann, while Nelson Piquet Jr. and Stephane Sarrazin.

Jerome d’Ambrosio¬†qualified 11th for Dragon ahead of Jose Maria Lopez, who struggled to match DS Virgin teammate Bird’s pace, and Loic Duval.

Andretti teammates Antonio Felix da Costa and Robin Frijns will start P14 and P15 in Montreal, directly behind Buemi, who blasted them both in the pit lane after Saturday’s race. Oliver Turvey took P17 in qualifying ahead of Mitch Evans, while Maro Engel and Adam Carroll will complete the final row.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *